James Evans
12 min readSep 19, 2021

--

Amiga 500 – My Favorite Games & Memories

Image Source: Reddit

My first home computer was the 48k ZX Spectrum, which was later upgraded to the 128k ZX Spectrum +2 with the built-in tape deck. However, it was the Commodore Amiga 500 that has a special place in my memories as a great home computer with some outstanding and original games.

Flight of Fantasy pack

Image Source: completelycollectible.com

In late 1990 my parents purchased the Amiga 500 Flight of Fantasy pack from the Comet electronics store in the UK. The pack was priced at £399, so it was an expensive purchase, probably more so than I realized at the time. With inflation that prices translates to over £800 today in 2021. For context, the most expensive Sony PS5 with the physical disc drive retails at £449, if you can find one for retail of course.

The Flight of Fantasy bundle included Rainbow Islands, Escape from the Planet of Robot Monsters and F29 Retaliator games plus the Deluxe Paint 2 art application. In this story I would like to share my 10 favorite games for the Amiga 500 and a couple of additional personal Amiga related memories.

Rainbow Islands

--

--

James Evans

Singapore based writer, snowboarder, gym goer, digital artist and aspiring racing driver